Privacy Policy

Privacy and your data

Your sleep data belongs entirely to you. It doesn't belong to Rise or an employer. This means you can ask for a copy of your data or request it be deleted at any time. We confirm through the app within 24 hours of request.

How do access and use your data

We believe in collecting the minimum amount of data necessary to provide a meaningful experience to improve your sleep habits. This includes interactions through the app that help build your sleep profile, as well as sleep data recorded directly from the sensor.

2 reasons our team needs access to your data:

Personalized sleep coaching

To create meaningful improvements in your life through sleep, it’s important to augment automated recommendations with expert human advice. Our coaches scan data for any instances that don’t fit previous sleep patterns and aren’t necessarily “reading” data as such. But we understand any sensitivity around privacy and allow users to opt-out of any personalized human intervention while still reaping other benefits of the program.

Accuracy calibration

Our under-mattress sleep sensor provides the most seamless way to collect sleep data. The tradeoff is that the sensor must be calibrated to properly account for your sleep setup, including factors like mattress thickness, sleep position, or the presence of a partner (or pet) in bed. While most of the calibration is automated, some cases are flagged for further investigation to ensure optimal accuracy.

Can your employer or team see your data?

You own your data, which means you also have full control. Rise works better when everyone shares their sleep debt information with a team, but doesn't include any specifics like when you went to bed or woke up. You can also turn this off in settings at any time.

Retention policy

We currently store and backup all data in order to provide reliability in case of system failure. All backup files are encrypted, and retained for 60 days. If at any moment you wish to delete all your data, just let us know. After deletion, all data will be fully removed from backup copies after 60 days. We do not, and will never share your data with any third parties.

Is the sensor recording 24/7?

The sensor is normally set to waiting mode and only records data when it senses someone is in bed and is sensitive enough to be triggered by a cat or dog. You can tell when the sensor is active by looking at the lights. Solid green indicates it is actively recording.